Privilèges hospitaliers

Les hôpitaux du Yukon offrent aux médecins résidents, aux étudiants en médecine, aux médecins et aux infirmières et infirmiers praticiens plusieurs possibilités de poursuivre leur formation, d’exercer leur profession et de faire des remplacements.

Médecins résidents et étudiants en médecine

Vous devez mener à terme deux processus avant de pouvoir traiter des patients dans les hôpitaux du Yukon. D’abord, vous devez être autorisé à exercer au Yukon par le Conseil médical du Yukon. Ensuite, vous devez présenter une demande pour l’obtention de privilèges hospitaliers à l’un ou à plusieurs des hôpitaux du Yukon – l’Hôpital général de Whitehorse, l’Hôpital communautaire de Dawson et l’Hôpital communautaire de Watson Lake. Voici les étapes à suivre (les documents ne sont publiés qu’en anglais) :

Un certain nombre de documents et de renseignements devront être fournis à l’appui de votre demande. Le chef du personnel médical examinera votre dossier. Il faut compter au moins 30 jours ouvrables avant que la demande d’obtention de privilèges hospitaliers soit approuvée. Vous trouverez dans les documents susmentionnés de l’information sur les possibilités d’hébergement pour les médecins résidents et les étudiants en médecine.  

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, les médecins résidents et étudiants en médecine sont priés de communiquer avec yhchospitalprivileges@wgh.yk.ca ou Kathy Reid, au 867-393-8979

Médecins, médecins suppléants et infirmières et infirmières et infirmiers praticiens

Pour avoir le droit d’exercer au Yukon, les médecins doivent être titulaires d’une licence délivrée par le Conseil médical du Yukon. Les infirmières et infirmiers praticiens sont régis par l’Association des infirmières et infirmiers autorisés du Yukon. Ces professionnels doivent ensuite s’adresser directement à l’hôpital de leur choix pour savoir quels privilèges sont accordés. Renseignez-vous sur le processus et la marche à suivre pour présenter une demande. 

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, les médecins, médecins suppléants et infirmières et infirmiers praticiens sont priés de communiquer avec Sarah Edwards, adjointe à la direction, au 867-393-8732.

Autre ressources (en anglais)

Conseil médical du Yukonl

Association des infirmières et infirmiers autorisés du Yukon​

Ordre des médecins du Yukon : Information à l’intention des médecins résidents, étudiants en médecine et médecins​

YukonMD : site d’information et de recrutement de médecins​

Last Updated:jeu, 04/10/2018 - 18:40

Hospital Privileges

There are many education, locum and practice opportunities available in Yukon hospitals to residents, medical students, physicians and nurse practitioners.

Residents & Medical Students

There are two processes you need to complete before providing patient care in Yukon hospitals. First, you need to be licensed with Yukon Medical Council to practice medicine in the territory. Second, you must apply for hospital privileges for Whitehorse General Hospital, Dawson City Community Hospital and/or Watson Lake Community Hospital by following these steps:

Please be aware that this process requires a number of supporting documents and information. Your application will be reviewed by the Chief of Medical Staff and approval of hospital privileges will take at least 30 business days. The above documents also provide information about accommodation available for residents and medical students.

For more information, residents and medical students should contact email yhchospitalprivileges@wgh.yk.ca or call Kathy Reid at 867-393-8979.

Physicians, Locums, Dentists, Optometrists & Nurse Practitioners

There are two processes you need to complete before providing patient care in Yukon hospitals. You need to apply to be licensed with Yukon Medical Council to practice medicine in the territory. Simultaneously, you must apply for hospital privileges for Whitehorse General Hospital, Dawson City Community Hospital and/or Watson Lake Community Hospital.

This process requires a number of supporting documents and information. Your application package must be received six weeks before your start date to avoid potential delays in the approval of your hospital privileges. Once completed, your application will be reviewed by the Chief of Medical Staff, Medical Advisory Committee and YHC’s Board of Trustees.

For information on the application process, physicians, locums, dentists, optometrists and nurse practitioners should contact Sarah Edwards, Corporate Assistant, at 867-393-8732.

Other Resources

Yukon Medical Council

Yukon Registered Nurses Association (YRNA)

Yukon Medical Association: information for residents, medical students and physicians

YukonMD: physician recruitment and information

Last Updated:Tue, 07/16/2019 - 22:21